Monder Law Group - News
California Sex Offender Registration
What is it?
It is a mandatory life long penalty imposed on people convicted of a sex offense in California, requiring them to register as sex offenders.
What are some registrable sex offenses in California?
Violations of California indecent exposure law (P.C. 314), rape law (P.C. 261), sexual battery (P.C. 243.4), lewd acts with a child (P.C. 288), sexual abuse of a child (P.C. 269), contributing to the delinquency of a minor (P.C. 272), pimping and pandering with a minor (P.C. 266), AND child pornography (P.C. 311).
When does the person register?
The person is required to appear in person to register within 5 working days after his or her release from custody or on his or her probation.
Who does the person register with?
The person must register as a sex offender with the local law enforcement agency of the city where he or she resides by providing his or her identifying information.
When does the person renew registration?
The person is required to renew his or her registration annually, within 5 working days of the person’s birthday. However, if the person is convicted as sexually violent predator, the person is required to renew his or her registration every 90 days.
What happens when the person changes residence?
The person is required to renew his or her registration every time that the person changes residence. The person must notify the previous registering agency and the new registering agency to the place where he or she is moving to. The notifications must be in writing and received within 5 working days of the person changing residence.
What happens if the person fails to register?
If the person knowingly and willingly fails to register, he or she will face charges of violating the California Sex Offender Registration Act. The conviction that the person will receive for this violation will depend on the registrable sex offense and the number of violations.
If the person failed to register for a registrable misdemeanor and this is the person’s first violation, then the person will be convicted of a misdemeanor. However, if this is the second time the person violates registration or if the person failed to register for a registrable felony, then the person will be convicted of a felony.
What are the penalties for violating the California Sex Offender Registration Act?
A person convicted of a misdemeanor for failure to register as a sex offender will face a sentence of up to 12 months in county jail. A person convicted of a felony for failure to register as a sex offender will face a sentence of up to 36 months in state prison. Remember that if you or a loved one is required to register as a sex offender, this is a life long obligation. It is imperative that you realize that any violation of the California Registration Act will be a continuing offense. What this means for you is that a failure to register or renew your registration over time may incur multiple violations that will result in numerous convictions.
Do not allow this to happen, let our experienced California criminal law attorneys advise you.
If you have any questions about the California Sex Offender Registration, please feel free to contact San Diego Criminal Defense Attorney Vik Monder at 619.405.0063 or visit San Diego Criminal Defense